Original Sun Singles 1954-1958

by: Johnny Cash

This 24-track collection contains several of Johnny Cash's biggest hits on Sun Records recorded between 1955 and 1958, including "I Walk the Line," "Folsom Prison Blues," "Big River," "Hey Porter," "Cry! Cry! Cry!," and "Get Rhythm." While Cash never recorded anything as frantic as his Sun labelmates Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins, Roy Orbison, or Elvis, these songs stand the test of time, proving that even early in his career, the future "Man in Black" played music his way, refusing to fit into a "rockabilly" mold. Even though there are a few overlapping cuts, this Sundazed collection makes a fine companion to The Man in Black: His Greatest Hits on Columbia/Legacy. ~ Al Campbell

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.