The Virgin Suicides: Music from the Motion Picture [Emperor Norton]

Sofia Coppola's The Virgin Suicides was based on Jeffrey Eugenides' novel of the five repressed, beautiful Lisbon sisters and the neighborhood boys who were mesmerized by them -- especially after the youngest sister, Cecelia, takes her own life. The film takes place in Michigan in the 1970s but is retold by the neighborhood boys as adults. The soundtrack replays the myriad emotions of adolescence and those of the Lisbon girls in particular. Tracks like Heart's "Magic Man" and "Crazy on You" reflect feminine sexuality in the mid-'70s, while 10cc's "I'm Not in Love" has an eerie, sedated feel. Gilbert O'Sullivan's "Alone Again (Naturally)" has a quaint, cheerful vibe despite its sadness; the Hollies' "The Air That I Breathe" and Sloan's "Everything You've Done Wrong" are sweet, pure proclamations; and Air's spacy "Playground Love (Vibraphone Version)" and "Ce Matin La" mirror the film's haunting, serene delicacy. ~ Gina Boldman

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.