Ricky Nelson, Vol. 1: The Legendary Masters Series

by: Ricky Nelson

Legendary Masters compiles all of the hits Ricky Nelson released for Imperial Records in the late '50s, including "Be-Bop Baby," "Stood Up," "Lonesome Town," "It's Late," "Poor Little Fool," "Sweeter Than You," "Just a Little Too Much," "Never Be Anyone Else but You," and "Believe What You Say." A few essential items are missing -- such as the Verve sides "A Teenager's Romance" and "I'm Walking" -- and it would have been nice if the disc had extended into the early '60s, so songs like "Travelin' Man" and "Mary Lou" could have been included, but Legendary Masters remains a vital collection from one of the most undervalued early rock & rollers. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.