by: Sick Puppies

Australian-American hard rock outfit Sick Puppies begin a new era with Fury, their fifth studio album and first with new singer/guitarist Bryan Scott. Following the release of their 2013 LP, Connect, the trio endured a dramatic lineup shift which saw the departure of founding guitarist Shimon Moore just a year later. Scott, a friend and longtime fan of the Puppies' work, immediately petitioned for the role as Moore's replacement and was eventually asked to join by bassist/singer Emma Anzai and drummer Mark Goodwin. Themes of empowerment and embracing change can be heard throughout the 11 hard-charging tracks here, with Scott and Anzai splitting vocal duties. Electronic elements are thread throughout some of the tracks as they continue to experiment with new textures, but Sick Puppies are still able to deliver plenty of big, riffy guitar rock. ~ Timothy Monger

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.