Death Valley '69

by: Sonic Youth

The Death Valley '69 EP compiles a few previously released songs -- "I Dreamed I Dream" (from Sonic Youth [1982]), "Inhuman" (from Confusion Is Sex [1983]), and "Brother James" (from Kill Yr. Idols [1983]) -- in addition to the title track and the otherwise unreleased "Satan Is Boring." It served its purpose at the time of its release, showcasing the excellent title track alongside some of the band's previous standout work, which was no doubt difficult to track down at the time (the band was still very underground). The previously unreleased song, "Satan Is Boring," isn't particularly noteworthy. It's typical of the sort of songs that Sonic Youth had recorded for Bad Moon Rising (1985) -- aimless and hazy, albeit curious. This 12" EP is mainly a collector's item nowadays. All of these songs can be readily found elsewhere. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.