Playlist Plus

by: The Velvet Underground

The Velvet Underground entry in Universal's environmentally friendly, three-disc Playlist Plus series features 38 tracks culled from the group's four studio albums, as well as cuts taken from solo Nico and Lou Reed records (sadly, no solo John Cale). For the most part, Velvet Underground & Nico, White Light/White Heat, Velvet Underground, and Loaded have arrived more or less intact. Absent tunes like "Black Angel's Death Song," "Jesus," "The Gift," "Lady Godiva's Operation," and "Who Loves the Sun" are augmented by solo Reed and Nico tunes such as "Lisa Says" and "These Days." In keeping with the source material, there's a whole lot of great music here, but there are enough key tracks missing to keep it from being definitive. ~ James Christopher Monger

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.