Pure... '80s Soul Grooves

A four-disc, 65-track box from Sony Music in the U.K., Pure... '80s Soul Grooves is a bit heavier on the earlier half of the decade. Balance aside, there's not much to complain about, and a lot of ground is covered without dipping into random album cuts and other forms of marginalia. Those with lots of '80s R&B depth to their collections won't fill many gaps here. Luther Vandross' "Never Too Much," Tom Browne's "Funkin' for Jamaica," the Isley Brothers' "Between the Sheets," and Evelyn King's "Love Come Down" hold up the earlier cuts, while Surface's "Happy," Terence Trent D'Arby's "Sign Your Name," and Gregory Abbott's "Shake You Down" highlight the later picks. Sony did not license anything from any of the other major distributors or independents. ~ Andy Kellman

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.