An Ohio-based metalcore unit with a punk edge, Beartooth were originally formed by frontman Caleb Shomo as an alternative creative outlet during his time as lead vocalist for Attack Attack! Signaling a departure from Attack Attack!'s heavily produced electronicore, Beartooth's debut EP, 2013's Sick, delivered a sonic gut-punch that felt both raw and rooted, a sound that the band would continue to explore on future full-length releases like Disgusting, Aggressive, and Disease. The band's founding lineup included guitarist Taylor Lumley, bassist Nick Reed, and drummer Brandon Mullins. They signed with Red Bull Records in 2013 and released their debut EP, Sick. Rhythm guitarist Kamron Bradbury (City Lights) joined the fray in 2014, just as Beartooth issued their first LP, Disgusting. Before the follow-up, Reed and Mullins parted ways with the band, replaced by Oshie Bichar and Connor Denis, respectively. In 2016, Beartooth released their sophomore effort, Aggressive, featuring the anthemic title track. It debuted atop the Billboard Alternative chart and at number 25 on the Billboard 200. A year later, an expanded deluxe edition of the album was issued, featuring acoustic and live versions recorded in London and their hometown of Columbus, Ohio. The group's third studio effort, 2018's punishing Disease, used frontman Shomo's battle with depression as its catalyst. It also marked the debuts of ex-Like Moths to Flames guitarist Zach Huston, who replaced outgoing shredder Taylor Lumley, and former session/touring drummer Connor Denis. ~ Gregory Heaney & Neil Z. Yeung

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.