Bessemer Sunset Four

The Bessemer Sunset Four (they were sometimes billed as the Bessemer Quartet) was formed in 1925 out of the ashes of the unrecorded Rolling Mill Four. Based out of Jefferson County, AL, the group consisted of lead singer Dave Brown, tenor Sam Riley, baritone Wash Ivey, and bass singer Pat Gaines. Their wonderful four-part harmonies were a textbook example of the Jubilee-style of gospel singing prevalent through the 1940s, when it gave way to the harder gospel styles of groups like the Soul Stirrers. The Bessemer Sunset Four recorded 27 tracks (three of which were never issued) for Vocalion Records between 1928 and 1930. ~ Steve Leggett

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.