Buck-O-Nine is a San Diego-based ska-punk band who, after gaining a small following in the mid-'90s, enjoyed more widespread popularity as the third wave ska revival reached the mainstream with the success of bands like Rancid and No Doubt. Their 1997 album, Twenty-Eight Teeth, became somewhat of a commercial breakout for them, and set the stage for several years of successful touring both in the U.S. and overseas. Following 2007's Sustain, Buck-O-Nine endured a quiet period, returning 12 years later with their ninth studio album, 2019's FunDayMental. Initially comprised of Jon Pebsworth (vocals), Jonas Kleiner (guitar), Scott Kennerly (bass), Steve Bauer (drums), Tony Currey (trumpet), Don Albert (trombone), and Craig Yarnold (saxophone), Buck-O-Nine formed in the early '90s and became a fixture on the California ska-punk scene. In 1994, they released their debut album, Songs in the Key of Bree, on Taang! Records. It was followed in 1995 by Barfly, which helped expand the group's fan base, especially with a relentless tour schedule that took them all across the U.S. and on their first trip to Japan. In the spring of 1996, the group released the Water in My Head EP. In 1996, Buck-O-Nine moved to TVT Records and began working on Twenty-Eight Teeth with producers Neill King and David Kershenbaum. Released in April 1997, Twenty-Eight Teeth found the group delving deeper into reggae and ska, and the album produced their first nationwide radio single, "My Town." Following a subsequent tour, Bauer exited the group. The Pass the Dutchie EP appeared in 1998, and a year later Buck-O-Nine returned with Libido. By this point, Bauer had been replaced on drums by Jeff Hawthorne, and new bassist John Bell (ex-Unwritten Law) was on board as well. Demos for the band's next album led to them being dropped from TVT. The live album Hellos & Goodbyes (randomly recorded at a show in Japan) was later released through Pebsworth's own Offramp label in 2000; that same year, Bell left the band to return to school, and bassist Andy Platfoot signed on in his place. Though the band continued touring and playing shows over the following years, Buck-O-Nine decided to ease up on their demanding schedule to be home more. After a seven-year hiatus, during which a best-of album was released, the group returned in 2007 with an album of new material titled Sustain. Over the coming years, Buck-O-Nine remained relatively quiet, touring occasionally and in 2012 welcomed back founding drummer Steve Bauer who took back the throne from his longtime replacement, Jeff Hawthorne. While they'd considered recording again, it was a 2017 invitation from Cleopatra Records that finally resulted in new material. At the label's request, Buck-O-Nine submitted a track called "Don't Be Afraid" to the compilation Punk Rock Halloween: Loud, Fast & Scary. Cleopatra was so enthusiastic about the song that they offered to put out a new Buck-O-Nine full-length. The band acquiesced and presented 2019's FunDayMental, their first album in 12 years. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.