Cherubini Quartett

This German chamber music quartet formed in Düsseldorf in 1978 and dissolved in 1997. The Cherubini Quartett's original members were Christoph Poppen (violin), Harald Schoneweg (violin), Hariold Schilichtig (viola), and Klaus Kämper (cello). Manuel Fischer-Dieskau replaced Kämper in 1989 and was in turn replaced by Christoph Richter in 1995, the same year that Ulf Gunnar Wallin took Schoneweg's place. The quartet received numerous awards during its career, notably the 1981 Gran Prix at the International Quartet Competition in Evian, France, and was particularly admired for its performances of the work of 19th century composers such as Schubert, Mendelssohn, and Schumann. ~ Mariano Prunes

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.