El Goodo

Drenched in hazy rich harmonies, ringing guitars, and horns (and named for a song from Big Star's debut album), the mysterious El Goodo are a '60s psychedelia revival band from the village of Resolven in South Wales, U.K. The members -- who initially didn't use their last names -- include Jason (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Pixy (vocals, bass, guitar, keyboards), Lewis (guitar), Elliott (drums, keyboards), and Matty (vocals, keyboards). Friends Super Furry Animals have brought El Goodo along on tour and also released the band's self-titled debut on their own label, Placid Casual, in late 2005. The album was released in the U.S. on Empyrean Records in October 2006. Following in their own meticulous manner, El Goodo returned in 2010 with their second album, Coyote, which was mixed by Cian Ciárán of the SFA; it was released on Dell'Orso Records in the U.K. and Grease Records in the United States. For their next project, El Goodo set up their own 16-track recording studio, using vintage gear first installed in an abandoned movie theater, and later in their hometown's Miners' Welfare Hall. In September 2017, El Goodo finally shared their work with fans on their third album, By Order of the Moose. By this time, the members of El Goodo finally decided it was time to start using their real names in the credits, and the album's lineup featured Lewie Sewers (guitar), Jason Jones (guitar, vocals), Pixy Jones (guitars, vocals, keyboards), Elliott Jones (drums, percussion), Matthew Young (keyboards), and Andrew Cann (bass). ~ Kenyon Hopkin

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.