Boasting a sound that's informed by vintage country rock and the melodic side of indie rock, Indiana's Houndmouth rose to success with the release of their 2013 debut on Rough Trade Records. With their infectious high-energy live shows and gritty Americana appeal, they became a festival staple over the next few years, enduring a 2016 membership shake-up that signaled a sonic shift for their third album, 2018's Golden Age. Houndmouth was formed in 2011 in New Albany, Indiana, a town across the river from Louisville, Kentucky. Founding members included guitarist/vocalist Matt Myers, keyboardist/vocalist Katie Toupin, bassist/vocalist Zak Appleby, and drummer/vocalist Shane Cody. The driven group of musicians quickly built a loyal following based on its fervent live shows, and was soon sharing stages with like-minded bands such as Drive-By Truckers and the Lumineers. In 2012, the group issued a self-titled four-song EP, and in 2013, Rough Trade released the band's full-length debut, From the Hills Below the City, a hearty collection of ragged, country-informed rock & roll. After a lengthy bout of touring, including stops at major festivals like Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza, and Newport Folk Festival, Houndmouth returned in March 2015 with Little Neon Limelight, another set of lean country boogie and late-night laments. The following year, Toupin left the band to pursue a solo career, leaving the remaining trio to quickly readjust their live act just before a major tour. Houndmouth carried on with a new set of touring members including keyboardist Caleb Hickman and saxophonists Graeme Gardiner and Drew Miller. A sleeker, more pop-forward sound emerged on 2018's Golden Age, their third album and first without Toupin. ~ Fred Thomas

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.