La Factoria

Panamanian R&B/hip-hop group La Factoria was created in 2000 by producer Pablo Maestre, better known as DJ Pablito. The group's debut disc was released in that year and entitled DJ Pablito Presenta La Factoria. Heavy radio support generated fan interest throughout the Spanish-speaking world, from Mexico to Colombia, Venezuela, their home nation of Panama, and other Caribbean nations such as Curazao and Aruba. The group's sophomore effort, Sin Obstaculos, hit the market in 2004, this time propelling La Factoria onto international airplay charts. On the strength of their flagship single, "Todavía," La Factoria was nominated for a fistful of awards, including Mejor Álbum, Grupo Revelación, and Mejor Interpretación at the 2004 Premios Oye. "Todavía" landed a spot in the Top 40 on Billboard's Latin Pop Airplay chart. Group members Joycee, Demphra, and MC Joe, joined by guest artist Eddy Lover and patron DJ Pablito, released their third album, Nuevas Metas, in December 2006. The group hitched itself to the reggaeton wave that dominated tropical airplay charts, resulting in the group's biggest sales to date. This time around, the single "Perdóname" made waves for La Factoria, placing in the Top 20 in Billboard's Hot Latin Tracks category. The video version of the single reached U.S. audiences thanks primarily to Internet distribution, bolstering stateside sales and giving the group its first strong footing outside the Caribbean. ~ Evan C. Gutierrez

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.