La Original Banda El Limon De Salvador Lizarraga

Original Banda el Limón is one of the oldest groups in contemporary Mexican banda. Originating in the mid-'60s and led by clarinetist Salvador Lizarraga Sánchez, the 17-member band has featured many classic vocalists during its history, including Julio Preciado, José Ángel Ledesma ("El Coyote"), Jorge Cordero, Luis Antonio López ("El Mimoso"), and Nico Flores. Experienced fans know that the word "original" in the band's name refers to the fact that the original Banda el Limón split into two factions, one led by Lizárraga and the other (known as La Arrolladora Banda el Limón) led by René Camacho, also a clarinetist. Throughout their history, the group has balanced old and new forms more than others; although their sound and arrangements are nothing if not traditional, they were one of the first banda artists to amplify and synthesize their sound. Their 2009 album, Derecho de Antiguedad, landed on the Top Latin Albums charts; it was the first of several, including 2010's follow-up Soy Tu Maestro: 45 Años Gracias a Ti (number 16), 2013's Fin de Semana, and 2016's Mas Original Que Nunca. The group issued two live recordings the following year: En Vivo Zocalo and Un Pequeño Momento en Vivo Para Alguien Muy Especial. ~ John Bush

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.