Hugo Leclercq produces joyful, hook-heavy, nu-disco and dance-pop under the name Madeon. He first garnered attention for his mashups and remixes before scoring hits with his original tracks and production work for several major pop stars. His vibrant debut full-length, Adventure, was released in 2015 and reached number one on Billboard's Top Dance/Electronic Albums chart. Born in Nantes, France in 1994, Leclercq started producing dance music before he hit his teens. Around 2010, he began releasing his first tracks as Madeon in a lush, sleek style influenced by French house and electropop. He also produced several mashups, including "Pop Culture," which jammed over three-dozen songs into three minutes. The track went viral as soon as it was uploaded to YouTube in 2011, immediately racking up millions of views. Additional work followed, including original singles ("Gold," "For You," "Shuriken," "Icarus") and remix work (for Alphabeat, Yelle, Deadmau5, and Martin Solveig). During 2012, Leclercq performed at several major festivals, including Ultra Music Festival, Coachella, and Lollapalooza. His singles "Finale" and "The City" charted in several countries. All this publicity helped Leclercq get work with more pop stars. He produced Ellie Goulding's song "Stay Awake," and mixed an alternate version of Muse's "Panic Station." After opening for Lady Gaga on her Born This Way tour, he produced and co-wrote three tracks for her Artpop album. Madeon's debut album, Adventure, was released by Columbia in 2015. The album hit number one on Billboard's Dance/Electronic Albums chart and spawned several charting singles, including "Pay No Mind" (featuring Passion Pit) and "Nonsense" (featuring Mark Foster of Foster the People). Leclercq went on two headlining tours following the album's release. In 2016 he collaborated with Porter Robinson for the single "Shelter," and the two artists toured together, wrapping up their tour at the 2017 Coachella festival. Leclercq then relocated to Los Angeles and worked on his second full-length. In May of 2019, he released "All My Friends," a buoyant single featuring his own vocals. ~ Jason Lymangrover

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.