The death metal band Monstrosity formed in Ft. Lauderdale, FL in October 1990; originally comprising singer George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher, guitarist Jon Rubin, bassist Mark Van Erp and drummer Lee Harris, the group recorded their first demo just two months after forming, and the resulting underground buzz resulted in a deal with the Nuclear Blast label. After issuing Imperial Doom in early 1992, Monstrosity toured Europe with Pestilence before relocating to the Tampa area, a move which led Rubin to leave the line-up; with new guitarist Jason Morgan, the group subsequently opened for acts including Pantera and Obituary, although no new material was forthcoming for several years. Just after signing with Conquest Music, Van Erp exited Monstrosity, and was replaced by bassist Kelly Conlon; upon completing their 1996 sophomore effort Millennium, Fisher accepted an offer to join Cannibal Corpse, and onetime Eulogy frontman Jason Avery took his place. In mid-1997, Morgan left the band as well, and with new guitarist Jamie Harris, Monstrosity recorded their third LP In Dark Purity, issued on Slipdisc in 1999. Enslaving the Masses appeared two years later on Conquest. ~ Jason Ankeny

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.