Prolific would perhaps be the best description of Devon-based producer Lee Norris, whose work as Metamatics, Tone Language, and Nacht Plank has surfaced on such luminaries of electronica as Clear, District Six, Skam, and his own Neo Ouija imprint. His Norken project first emerged on Clear's Reel subsidiary with the deep house of Southern Soul before following Metamatics to the Hydrogen Dukebox label in 2000 for the release of the project's debut album, Soul Static Bureau. Though less intensive than Metamatics in terms of programming, the album retained Norris' passion for pensive synths and slippery percussion, reflecting early influences such as John Foxx and Depeche Mode while conjuring the spirits of Warp's AI pioneers Black Dog and B12. His sophomore album as Norken, Spring Themes, was released in 2001. ~ Kingsley Marshall

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.