Rock Kills Kid

Based around the songwriting talents of Jeff Tucker, the California-based alternative rock outfit Rock Kills Kid initially came together in the last part of the '90s. Having recently graduated from high school, Tucker was directionless and socially withdrawn when he finally worked up the nerve to hook up with some local punk bands and begin writing songs. Together with two of his bandmates, drummer Chris Poulson and bassist Kirk Huffman, Tucker formed Rock Kills Kid and recorded a demo that led to the guys inking a deal with Fearless Records in 2000. Their eponymous EP appeared in early 2001 to decent response, but Rock Kills Kid never really toured behind it. Tucker soon found himself with no money and living as a squatter in the Los Angeles recording studio. Over the next few years, he constantly wrote -- barely leaving his illegal quarters -- and by the end of 2003, Tucker had amassed close to 150 songs. Meanwhile, Rock Kills Kid was still alive in name, but with an unstable roster, far from actually being a band. Undeterred, Tucker eventually recruited bassist Shawn Dailey, keyboardist Reed Calhoun, drummer Ian Hendrickson, and guitarist Sean Stopnik to once again complete the group. After the band signed to Reprise during the recording process, the emotionally tense Are You Nervous? arrived in May 2006. Produced by Mark Trombino (blink-182, Jimmy Eat World), their full-length debut was a post-punk-inspired effort that Tucker used to deal with his years of self-imposed isolation. March was spent on the road with the Electric Six and Nightmare of You; various tour dates followed the record's release as well. ~ Corey Apar

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.