Sons of Apollo

Sons of Apollo are a progressive metal supergroup founded by ex-Dream Theater members Mike Portnoy and Derek Sherinian; its lineup also includes Billy Sheehan (Winery Dogs, Mr. Big), Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal (ex-Guns N' Roses), and Jeff Scott Soto (ex-Journey). According to Portnoy, Sons of Apollo came together organically. He and Sherinan reunited shortly after he left Dream Theater in 2010 in an all-instrumental touring band with Sheehan and Tony MacAlpine as PSMS. It was their first time working together since the '90s. Though designed as a one-off, the band toured during 2012 and 2013. In the aftermath, Sherinan pursued Portnoy to create a full-time band. Given Portnoy's intense schedule, it took some time -- nearly three years. In late 2016, other members were recruited and the idea became reality. Sons of Apollo's debut album, Psychotic Symphony, was issued in 2017 by InsideOut Music. It was produced by "The Del Fuvio Brothers" (as Portnoy and Sherinan were affectionately dubbed during their tenure together in Dream Theater), with a 2018 tour to follow. ~ Thom Jurek

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.