Split Cranium

Driving and relentless, transatlantic collective Split Cranium pay homage to the explosive sound of early hardcore and metal, while incorporating elements of ambient noise and spoken word. The group features an all-star cast culled from a wide array of superlative heavy music organizations like Circle, Converge, and Isis (just to name a few). Founded in 2011 by guitarist/vocalist Aaron Turner (Isis, Sumac, and Old Man Gloom), guitarist Jussi Lehtisalo (Circle), bassist Jukka Kröger, and drummer Samae Koskinen, the band crashes and bashes its way through songs that evoke the speed-fueled recklessness of Motörhead with sweat-soaked intensity. Split Cranium made their long-form debut in 2012 with a self-titled album released through Turner's own label, Hydrahead. The band underwent a series of personnel changes before heading back into the studio for album number two. The resulting I'm the Devil and I'm OK, released in 2018 via Ipecac, featured a lineup consisting of Turner, Lehtisalo, keyboardist/vocalist Faith Coloccia (Mamiffer, Mara), bassist Nate Newton (Converge, Doomriders), and drummer Tomi Leppänen (Circle, K-X-P). ~ Gregory Heaney

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.