The Legendary Tigerman

The Legendary Tigerman is a one-man blues-rock band featuring Paulo Furtado, a Portuguese vocalist and multi-instrumentalist also affiliated with the bands WrayGunn and Tédio Boys. Born in Coimbra, Portugal, Furtado began his career in the late '80s as the guitarist and songwriter of the psychobilly band Tédio Boys. Prior to his departure at the end of the decade, the band released the albums Porkabilly Psychosis!!! (1994), Outer Space Shit! (1996), and Bad Trip (1998) and toured the United States. Furtado subsequently founded WrayGunn, a blues-rock band in which he played guitar and sang vocals alongside frontwoman Raquel Ralha. In association with the NorteSul label, WrayGunn made their album debut with Amateur (2000), followed by Soul Jam (2001), Ecclesiastes 1.11 (2005), and Shangri-La (2007). Meanwhile, Furtado founded the Legendary Tigerman, a one-man blues-rock band in which he sang and played guitar and drums alone on-stage. In association with the Subotnick Enterprises label, he made his full-length album debut as the Legendary Tigerman with Naked Blues (2001), followed by Fuck Christmas, I Got the Blues (2003) and In Cold Blood (2004), the latter comprised of remixes. He subsequently switched to Rastilho Records and released his third album, the critically acclaimed Masquerade (2006). Following the success of that album and a tour in support of former Pulp frontman Jarvis Cocker, the Legendary Tigerman moved to EMI for the release of his next album, Femina (2009). Featuring collaborations with a cast of female vocalists, Femina was a smash hit that reached the Top Five on the Portuguese albums chart. It spawned the singles "Life Ain't Enough for You" with Asia Argento, "These Boots Are Made for Walking" with Maria de Medeiros, and "Hey, Sister Ray" with Rita Redshoes. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.