This Will Destroy You

This Will Destroy You are a Texan group who compose lengthy, atmospheric instrumental pieces utilizing a variety of guitar effects and dynamic changes. Incorporating influences such as shoegaze, ambient, and doom metal, they reject the "post-rock" label that is usually applied to them. Initially appearing with a well-received 2005 demo EP, Young Mountain, the group continued to evolve their sound through subsequent releases including the metal-influenced Tunnel Blanket (2011) and the drone-heavy Another Language (2014). The band formed in San Marcos, Texas in 2005. Members Chris King (guitars), Jeremy Galindo (guitars), Raymond Brown (bass), and Andrew Miller (drums) came together under the notion of pursuing a purely instrumental project, and recorded their demo -- which would end up being released as is -- shortly after getting together. The EP, Young Mountain, was critically acclaimed, and the band inked a deal with Magic Bullet Records. Brown was out of the band by 2007, replaced by Donovan "Dono" Jones, who took over bass duties as well as adding haunting Rhodes keyboards and other keyboard tones. Their self-titled full-length was released in 2008 and followed the next year by a split album with friends the Lymbyc Systym titled Field Studies. Around the same time Miller dropped out as drummer, replaced by new timekeeper Alex Bhore. The year 2010 saw the release of the EP Moving on the Edges of Things as well as the Communal Blood single. The band progressively moved toward a dark hybrid of doom metal and shoegaze as the years went by. Proper second album Tunnel Blanket materialized in 2011 and saw release on the Suicide Squeeze label. Various remixes and appearances on compilations and film soundtracks kept This Will Destroy You busy, and they released a live album in 2013 with Live in Reykjavik, Iceland. Three years after Tunnel Blanket, and amid troubling times for the entire band, fourth album Another Language was released in the fall of 2014. The group kept busy touring during the next few years, and a single for the Another Language track "The Puritan" was issued in 2017, featuring a remix by Julianna Barwick. Two albums, New Others Part One and Two, were released in quick succession in 2018. ~ Fred Thomas

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.