California's alt-metal quintet Ultraspank originally consisted of Jerry Oliviera (guitars), Dan Ogden (bass), Pete Murray (vocals/programming), Neil Godfrey (guitars/programming), and Tyler Clark (drums). The group formed out of the ashes of Clark, Ogden, and Murray's early '90s speed metal band Indica, which became MTV's Best College Rock Band in 1992. By 1995, they had rechristened themselves Spank, added Godfrey and Oliviera, and begun writing more groove-oriented rock. Due to copyright conflicts, Spank became Ultraspank when they signed to Epic in 1996. They released their self-titled debut album in 1998 and appeared with Sevendust, Soulfly, Incubus, Korn, and Rob Zombie, as well as earning a spot on that year's OzzFest tour. Despite this extensive roadwork, however, the album failed to chart. Clark left the band and was replaced by James "Fed" Carroll. Ultraspank's second album, Progress, appeared in May 2000, as they played gigs with Static-X and Slipknot. ~ Heather Phares

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.