Yellow Ostrich

Yellow Ostrich is an experimental indie rock band centered around singer/songwriter Alex Schaaf. The band originally began as a solo project for Schaaf, who made lo-fi indie pop on his four-track recorder. After relocating from Wisconsin to New York, Schaaf self-released a full-length album, titled Wild Comfort, in January of 2010. It was quickly followed by a series of EPs -- Fade Cave EP, The Morgan Freeman EP, and The Serious Kids EP -- which were made available for free download. Yellow Ostrich's sophomore album, The Mistress, featuring the song "Mary," followed in 2011. In 2012, Schaaf and his Yellow Ostrich bandmates Michael Tapper and Jon Natchez returned with the decidedly more forceful and anthemic Strange Land. Also in 2012, Yellow Ostrich released the six-song EP Ghost. After Ghost, Natchez announced he had left the band, replaced by longtime touring members Jared Van Fleet and Zach Rose. In 2014, Yellow Ostrich returned with its third full-length album, the Carl Sagan-inspired Cosmos. ~ Jason Lymangrover

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.