Yo Gabba Gabba!

Yo Gabba Gabba! is a television show for children produced by Christian Jacobs (of the ska-punk band the Aquabats) and Scott Schultz, two dads who didn't care for most kids' shows and wanted to create an alternative that was fun, educational, and creative. Yo Gabba Gabba! follows the adventures of DJ Lance Rock (played by Lance Robertson), a man with a magic boom box, and his pals, a handful of friendly robots and monsters -- tall red Cyclops Muno, yellow robot Plex, blue feline creature Toodee, green and striped Brobee, and pink, bubbly, and flower-topped Foofa. The show's voice cast includes Christian Jacobs (Plex), Adam Deibert (Muno), Erin Pearce (Toodee), Emma Jacobs (Foofa), and Amos Watene (Brobee); the show is dubbed with British-accented voices for broadcast in the U.K., featuring actors Simon Feilder (Plex and Brobee), Bob Golding (Muno), Jonell Elliot (Toodee), Teresa Gallagher (Foofa), and Ortis Deley (Lance). Music plays a big part in the show, and Yo Gabba Gabba!'s regular characters sing and play music, with Munro on guitar, Brobee on drums, Plex on keytar, Toodee on bass, and Foofa on percussion. Regular guests on the show include rapper Biz Markie, who demonstrates the art of beatboxing in the segment "Biz's Beat of the Day," and Devo founder Mark Mothersbaugh, who brings drawings to life in "Mark's Magic Pictures." Yo Gabba Gabba! has also attracted a wide range of musical guests who perform original songs on the show, including the Roots, Of Montreal, the Flaming Lips, Jimmy Eat World, Rocket from the Crypt, Money Mark, the Killers, Jack Black, Weezer, and Paul Williams. Debuting in 2007, Yo Gabba Gabba! has become a popular success in the United States, Great Britain, and Australia, developing a following with youngsters, their parents, and a growing number of music fans attracted by the show's noted guests, and in addition to the usual toys, videos, and live shows, the series has spawned a handful of albums featuring songs from the show; several volumes in the Music Is...Awesome! series have been released in the United States, while Party in My Tummy, Hello Friends!, and Super Music Friends were issued in Australia. ~ Mark Deming

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.